1946 & 1964 The First and Last Silver Roosevelt Dimes Set


The Silver Roosevelt Dimes were minted from 1946 to 1964 and are composed of 90% silver and 10% copper. These dimes were issued following the death of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1945 and feature a portrait of Roosevelt on the obverse (front) side.

Here are some key points about Silver Roosevelt Dimes:

  1. Composition: Silver Roosevelt Dimes minted from 1946 to 1964 have a silver content of 90%. In 1965, the U.S. Mint transitioned to a copper-nickel composition for dimes, eliminating the silver content for general circulation coins.
  2. Design: The obverse of the coin features a portrait of President Franklin D. Roosevelt facing left. The reverse (back) side displays an olive branch, a torch, and an oak branch, symbolizing peace, liberty, and strength.
  3. Mint Marks: Mint marks for these dimes can be found on the reverse side, just above the “E” in “ONE.” The mint marks indicate the mint where the coin was produced. Common mint marks include “D” for Denver, “S” for San Francisco, and “P” for Philadelphia.
  4. Collectibility: Silver Roosevelt Dimes are often collected by numismatists for their silver content and historical significance. Some collectors seek to complete sets of these dimes, which includes obtaining examples from each mint and each year.
  5. Transition to Clad Composition: In 1965, the U.S. Mint switched to a copper-nickel clad composition for dimes due to rising silver prices. As a result, dimes minted from 1965 onward do not contain silver and are commonly referred to as “clad dimes.”

In stock